ART BASICS for CHILDREN (ABCvzw)

WHAT IS ABC ?

Drawing_Steinberg

ABC = the first letters of the alphabet. ABC = ART BASICS for CHILDREN. But the C not only refers to children but also to critical, to asking questions and to communication. The B in Basics is also that of the Brain or of awareness, and A is the first letter of Art but also of Anthropology and Anima, the soul of things.
Marianne Van Kerkhoven, playwright

ABC vzw (npo) is situated on the border of art and education: it is a laboratory for aesthetic experiences, creative development and artistic awareness.

ORIGEN

ABC (ART BASICS for CHILDREN) is the brainchild of Gerhard Jäger. When he became a father, he went in search of stimulating books and play materials for his growing son as an indirect visual guide to the arts. This book collection, in which culture and education are central, grew to the extent that he wanted to share it: with other parents, but with teachers, librarians, educators as well, and last but not least, with other children.

The most interesting ideas from the numerous books were selected and transformed into play and workstations: small islands where children and adults, individually or together, could get started using their imaginations, senses, hands, etc in a fun and creative way. And of course they could also rummage in the books where it all started. In this way the interactive ABC studios were born.

HISTORY

The first ABC studio had a public try-out in 1998 at the BRONKS-festival in Brussels. The studios, a combination library, workshop and exhibition in a refined design, have been invited as guests to many events. In cultural centers from Ostend to Hasselt to Namur, but also at festivals such as Brussels 2000, Lille 2004, Mons 2015, in various exhibitions at Bozar, at the Magritte Museum, etc.

In 2008, ABC found its own building in Schaerbeek. ‘De Fabriek’ (The Factory), a former youth center, experienced renovation over two years, and was transformed into the ABC-house. In the meantime, the multilingual collection of books has continuously grown to some 12,000 books. This Creative Resource Center -as the ABC House is also referred to- is available to anyone who develops projects around art and education, or just wants to gain inspiration for life.

MISSION

Everyone is entitled to a ‘poetic life’. With this ideal in mind, ABC uses the artistic process as a step towards dialogue, and as a reflective tool for young and old to use as support in integrating art into everyday life. To this end, we collect the most inspiring books, ideas, visuals, materials and media in the field of art and education, and unlock that collection in various ways (studios, workshops, publications, etc). The idea is that everyone, regardless of age or background, is able to experiment in and with the collection. This experimental approach should also integrate into everyday reality. In addition, ABC is working on strategies to inspire (future) teachers, through informal learning experiences, to teach in a more artistic and personal way. We are working on a new, interdisciplinary teaching culture in which art (education) is woven into all areas of the curriculum.

“Today art education has no definite goal, no method, no particular content that can be taught, no tradition that can be transmitted to a new generation- which is to say, it has too many. Just as art after Duchamp can be anything, so can art education be anything. Art education is an education that functions more as an idea of education, as education per se, because art education is finally unspecific. (…) It is an education without rules. But so-called real life, where we are subject to an endless variety of improvisations, suggestions, confusions and catastrophes is also without any rules. Ultimately, teaching art means teaching life.”

Boris Groys, philosopher and art critic

GOALS

• Integrating art and culture into society
One of the main objectives of the organization is the development of a more direct relationship between art (in the broad sense of the word) and everyday life. Therefore, ABC wants to provide a more integrated place for art and culture in society, in education and in the life of every individual. Not necessarily by seeing children and youth as future artists or culture consumers, but by making them primarily more familiar with the ways in which artists and other creative spirits deal with the world and life.

• Offering an aesthetic experience in a sophisticated spatial context
ABC also wants to offer its audience an aesthetic experience through carefully selected educational games and other materials and through a visually appealing and inspiring book collection. All this in a qualitative and carefully designed environment.

• Encouraging play and playful learning/Developing talents
The projects focus on enjoyment of the game as a priority, as an act of imagination, creativity, dexterity, communication and sheer pleasure. An ABC-environment is a place where adults learn to play again, and where children play to learn. Through playing, they can explore and develop more intellectually, socially, artistically or spiritually.

• Learning to look, listen, live with curiosity
Art and cultural participation brings up questions, encourages dialogue, broadens awareness, helps us to become conscious of what we see and hear, and over time, to a more conscious life. An important aspect of this is the promotion of image literacy and media literacy, so that children and adolescents learn to critically cope with the myriad of visual and informational stimuli with which they are bombarded today. In times of speed, functionality and an excess of digital entertainment, ABC would like to invite visitors to take time, stop and marvel at a certain shape, color, taste, sound, image, idea …

• Inciting citizenship, empathy, tolerance:
ABC also wants to encourage its audience to articulate why they find a work (of art) good or bad, regardless of the consensus about it. It is important that people enter into dialogue with others with their own perception. When you can talk to others about whether or not a given (art) work appeals to you, you also develop respect for the opinions of others. It creates empathy, and contributes to empowerment. In this sense, art and aesthetic education also have a direct relation with society; they create tolerance and allow you to learn to look at things from different perspectives.

APPROACH

No guru, no method, no teacher’– Van Morrison

Personal creative development of each individual is key in all ABC-projects. This development takes place with each person differently; it varies with age, frame of reference, mood etc. Therefore, it is important to create an environment in which each person, with his or her personality, can find a way within the wide range of books, visuals, educational materials & impulses. Within the strongly varying character of several art disciplines, art historical trends and cultures, everyone can find a starting point. For this reason we also take advantage of the wide variety of techniques, materials and media.

The ABC-approach is holistic. We try, as much as possible, to cover all the dimensions of a human being: the intellectual, emotional, sensory, physical, spiritual, etc. The diversity of what we offer enables the public the opportunity to discover themselves and the society on several levels. Through the world of art, of course, but also by virtue of the abundantly present links with science, philosophy, anthropology, religion, etc. Children/young people who attend an ABC-project therefore come into contact with a wide range of activities, ranging from cognitive play, to manual activities, to philosophy, and to perhaps finish by ‘cooking together.’ The ABC-concept is therefore a complete package of various elements: the rich collection consisting of books, ideas and tools; the design of the space and the personality of the ABC-guide. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

WITH THE SUPPORT OF

      Vlaanderen_verbeelding_werkt_0      brusselsiris      eu1     triodos

ART BASICS for CHILDREN (ABCvzw)

QU’EST-CE QUE ABC ?

Drawing_Steinberg

ABC = les premières lettres de l’alphabet. ABC = ART BASICS for CHILDREN. Mais le C ne renvoie pas seulement aux enfants, il renvoie aussi à « critical », à la mise en question et la communication. Le B de Basics est aussi celui de « Bewustzijn » (« la conscience ») et le A, en plus d’être la première lettre de Art est aussi la première d’Antropologie et de Anima, l’âme des choses.
Marianne Van Kerkhoven, dramaturge

L’asbl ABC se situe à la frontière de l’art et de l’éducation : c’est un laboratoire pour des expériences esthétiques, le développement de la créativité et la sensibilisation artistique.

ORIGINE

ABC (ART BASICS for CHILDREN) est l’œuvre de Gerhard Jäger. Lorsqu’il est devenu papa, il est parti à la recherche de livres stimulants et de matériaux ludiques pour son fils qui grandissait, comme une orientation visuelle indirecte vers les arts. Cette collection de livres dans laquelle la culture et l’éducation occupent une place centrale a grandi dans une telle mesure qu’il a voulu la partager : avec d’autres parents, mais aussi avec des enseignants, des bibliothécaires, des pédagogues et, last but not least, avec d’autres enfants.

Les idées les plus intéressantes de ces nombreux livres ont été sélectionnées et transformées en stations de jeu et de travail : des petits îlots où les enfants et les adultes, individuellement ou ensemble, pouvaient mettre au travail de manière ludique et créative leur imagination, leurs sens, leurs mains… Et bien sûr, ils pouvaient fouiner dans les livres avec lesquels tout avait commencé. C’est de cette manière que sont nés les studios interactifs d’ABC.

HISTORIQUE

Le premier studio ABC a connu un premier essai public en 1998 lors du festival BRONKS à Bruxelles. Les studios, une combinaison de bibliothèque, d’atelier et d’exposition dans une mise en forme épurée, ont ensuite été invités dans de nombreux endroits. Dans des centres culturels, d’Ostende à Namur en passant par Hasselt, mais aussi dans des festivals comme Bruxelles 2000, Lille 2004, Mons 2015, dans différentes expositions à Bozar, au Musée Magritte…

En 2008, ABC a trouvé un bâtiment à investir à Schaerbeek. « La Fabriek », une ancienne maison de jeunes, a été en travaux pendant deux ans et a été transformée en maison ABC. C’est là que se trouve aujourd’hui la collection, en plusieurs langues et toujours en développement, qui compte environ 12.000 livres. Ce Creative Resource Center – comme on appelle aussi la maison ABC – est à la disposition de tous ceux qui veulent développer un projet autour de l’art et de l’éducation, ou tout simplement trouver de l’inspiration pour la vie.

MISSION

Tout le monde a droit à une « vie poétique ». C’est avec cet idéal en tête qu’ABC utilise le processus artistique comme amorce pour le dialogue et comme instrument de réflexion pour soutenir les jeunes et les moins jeunes dans leur recherche de l’intégration de l’art dans la vie quotidienne. Pour cela, nous collectionnons les livres, idées, images, matériaux et médias les plus inspirants sur le plan de l’art et de l’éducation et nous ouvrons cette collection de différentes manières (studios, ateliers, publications…). La pensée sous-jacente est que tout le monde, quel que soit l’âge ou le parcours, part lui-même en recherche dans et avec la collection et intègre aussi cette attitude de recherche dans la réalité quotidienne. Outre ce travail d’impulsion directe, ABC développe des stratégies pour inspirer les (futurs) enseignants au moyen d’expériences informelles d’apprentissage d’une manière plus artistique et personnelle d’enseigner. Nous travaillons à une nouvelle culture de l’enseignement, transdisciplinaire, où l’art (et l’éducation à l’art) est imbriqué dans tous les domaines du curriculum.

 

“Aujourd’hui, l’éducation artistique n’a pas de but défini, pas de méthode, pas de contenu particulier qui peut être enseigné, pas de tradition qui peut être transmise à une nouvelle génération – ce qui revient à dire qu’il y en a trop. De la même façon que l’art après Duchamp peut être n’importe quoi, l’éducation artistique peut être n’importe quoi. L’éducation artistique est une éduction qui fonctionne, plus que n’importe quelle idée de l’éducation, comme une éducation en soi, parce que l’éducation artistique est non spécifique. (…) C’est une éducation sans règles. Mais ce qu’on appelle la vie réelle, où nous sommes les sujets d’une variété infinie d’improvisations, de suggestions, de confusions et de catastrophes, n’a pas non plus de règles. Au final, enseigner l’art signifie enseigner la vie. »

Boris Groys, philosophe et critique d’art

OBJECTIFS

  • Intégrer l’art et la culture dans la société
    Un des objectifs les plus importants de l’asbl est le développement d’une relation plus évidente entre l’art (au sens large du terme) et la vie quotidienne. ABC souhaite donner de cette manière à l’art et à la culture une place plus intégrée dans la société, dans l’enseignement et dans la vie de chaque individu. Pas tant en considérant les enfants et les jeunes comme de futurs artistes ou consommateurs de culture mais en les familiarisant en premier lieu davantage avec les façons dont les artistes et d’autres esprits créatifs s’emparent du monde et de la vie.
  • Offrir une expérience esthétique dans un contexte spatial réfléchi
    ABC wil haar publiek ook een esthetische ervaring aanbieden via zorgvuldig geselecteerde educatieve spel- en andere materialen en een visueel aantrekkelijke, inspirerende boekencollectie. Dit alles in een kwalitatieve en zorgvuldig vormgegeven omgeving.
  • Stimuler le plaisir de jouer et l’apprentissage en jouant/Développement des talents.
    Les projets visent en priorité la joie de jouer, comme un acte d’imagination, de créativité, d’habileté, de communication et de plaisir pur. Un environnement ABC est un lieu où les adultes apprennent à nouveau à jouer et où les enfants peuvent jouer pour apprendre. En partant du jeu, on peut chercher un développement plus intellectuel, social, artistique ou spirituel.
  • Apprendre à regarder, à écouter, à vivre de manière plus consciente
    La participation à l’art et à la culture développe l’esprit critique, peut ouvrir au dialogue, élargir le regard, mettre en marche un processus où l’on va regarder et écouter de manière plus consciente et, à terme, vivre de manière plus consciente. Un aspect important dans cette démarche est le fait de favoriser l’éducation à l’image et aux médias, de manière à ce que les enfants et les jeunes puissent manier avec plus de sens critique les innombrables stimulations visuelles et informatives dont ils sont inondés aujourd’hui. A l’ère de la vitesse, de la fonctionnalité et de la surabondance de divertissement digital, ABC veut justement inviter à prendre son temps, à s’arrêter et à être surpris par une certaine forme, une certaine couleur, un certain goût, son, image, idée…
  • Stimuler la citoyenneté, l’empathie, la tolérance :
    ABC souhaite également inciter son public à exprimer ce pourquoi on trouve une œuvre (d’art) bonne ou mauvaise, libéré du consensus qui règne autour de cela. Il est important que les gens entrent en dialogue avec d’autres au sujet de leur propre perception. Lorsqu’on peut parler avec d’autres de ce qui nous plaît ou pas dans une œuvre (d’art) donnée, on développe également le respect pour l’avis des autres. Cela crée de l’empathie et favorise en même temps l’autonomisation. L’art et l’éducation esthétique ont dans ce sens aussi un lien direct avec la société, ils développent la tolérance et apprennent à regarder les choses à partir de différentes perspectives.

APPROCHE

No guru, no method, no teacher’– Van Morrison

Dans tous les projets ABC, le développement créatif personnel de chaque individu occupe une place centrale. Ce développement se passe différemment chez chacun, en fonction de l’âge, du cadre de référence, de l’humeur, etc. Il est donc important de créer un environnement dans lequel chacun peut trouver son chemin à partir de sa propre singularité à travers une vaste offre de livres, d’images, de matériaux et stimulations éducatifs. Dans le caractère fortement varié des différentes disciplines artistiques et tendances de l’histoire de l’art et des cultures, il y a suffisamment de points d’accroche à trouver pour chacun. C’est aussi pour cela que nous utilisons les techniques, matériaux et médias les plus divers.

L’approche d’ABC est holistique, nous essayons d’aborder le plus de dimensions possibles de l’être humain :  l’intellectuel, l’émotionnel, le sensoriel, le moteur, le spirituel… La diversité de l’offre met le public en mesure de se découvrir lui-même et de découvrir la société à différents niveaux. A travers le monde de l’art, bien sûr, mais aussi parce que les liens avec la science, la philosophie, l’anthropologie, la religion… sont présents en abondance. Les enfants/jeunes qui visitent un projet ABC entrent donc en contact avec une vaste gamme d’activités, partant de jeux plutôt cognitifs à de la philosophie en passant par des activités manuelles et en allant éventuellement jusqu’à « cuisiner ensemble ». C’est pourquoi le concept ABC est un ensemble global regroupant des éléments différents : la riche collection, composée de livres, d’idées et d’instruments de travail, la mise en forme de l’espace et la personnalité des guides ABC. Le tout est plus que la somme des parties.

AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE

      Vlaanderen_verbeelding_werkt_0      brusselsiris      eu1     triodos