BASISBOX

BASISBOX
Creatieve Learning Environements

01abc_scholen450

The way a room is furnished not only affects how you feel, but how you learn as well. ABC works to support the development of children, starting from a specific architectural context with a strong internal logic, a space that stimulates them directly and openly and raises awareness. Evidence of this are the mobile ABC-studios and of course the interior design of the ABC-house, where we try to achieve this as much as possible.

ABC would like to share our expertise in this field. In recent years there were many applications from organisations working with children/young people, looking for a quality, stimulating environment: nurseries, schools, libraries, museums, academies, etc. Recently, ABC has designed the interior of classes in De Kriek primary school / Schaerbeek, St. Lukas primary school/ Brussels and schools in Merksem and Herent as well. ABC is also a partner in the refurbishment of various libraries (incl. Brasschaat) and several kindergartens/IBOs (after-school care facilities) including Retie, Herenthout, Wechelderzande, Brussels etc.

ABC, along with our partners, is investigating the needs and capabilities of the infrastructure and designing specific furniture, finishing up with books and play equipment. The aim is to assemble a tailor-made creative learning environment. This design process is done in several phases and in close consultation with the partner concerned.

At the same time there is a more ‘pedagogic’ coaching program for employees of the partner with the intention to inspire them to work with children/young people creatively in their newly furnished rooms.

“Architecture is always dream and function, expression of an utopia and instrument of a convenience
(Roland Barthes, writer and philosopher)

BASISBOX
The work tool

affiche_basisbox

“The third pedagogue, after the adults and other children, is the space, the physical environment. The space is not only the space itself, but also the materials and experiences they offer and the activities that take place there. The layout of the space and the supply of materials must be compliant to the discovery and investigation of the children.”
(Loris Malaguzzi)

With the BASISBOX ‘Architecture’, we want children, (future) teachers, cultural workers, educators, etc to become sensitive to their perception of space and a harmonically balanced interior. Change and improvement of living and working environment are only possible if a process of awareness precedes.

Ten recurring elements to examine a space on its qualities, are:

Form/Proportion, Material, Colour, Light, Sound, Smell, Interior, Circulation, Climate, Environment/Outside space

For each element, the BASISBOX contains various carefully chosen work and play materials: (educational) games, experiments, worksheets, practice activities, visuals, background information, reference books, etc. These materials invite you to explore and discuss every component in an interactive, playful and often sensory way, as a parameter of architectural quality.

All elements are interrelated, since together they are used to denote the general term ‘architecture’ and to make them more transparent.

The BASISBOX is an interesting work tool to use with children, for example, when their classrooms are being renovated or a new building is planned. But also for (future) teachers, librarians, youth workers, etc, to become more aware of the impact of a creative learning environment and the opportunities in your own hands to have a positive influence on a space.

In an indirect way the BASISBOX also serves as a tool for aesthetic education.

Blue Print Catalogue

Basisbox_Box_Rand

Based on collaborations with various partners, we examine the needs and possibilities to implement flexible, creative learning environments in existing structures. In these collaborations, ABC furniture is prepared and supplemented with materials and books. Simultaneously, an intensive coaching of the management, the teachers, lecturers and students who will work with the children, is going on. Through this link you can download for free the collection (Blueprint catalog) of our designed furniture to construct it by yourself.

Blue Print

 

KAMISHIBAI

MOBIELE STUDIO’S

INTERNATIONAAL

BASISBOX

BASISBOX

BASISBOX
Environnements d’apprentissage créatifs

01abc_scholen450

La manière dont un espace est aménagé a non seulement une influence sur la manière dont on se sent mais aussi sur la façon dont on apprend. ABC souhaite contribuer à soutenir le développement des enfants à partir d’un contexte architectural spécifique, avec une logique interne forte, un espace qui les stimule et les sensibilise de manière directe et ouverte. En témoignent les studios mobiles d’ABC et, bien sûr, l’aménagement de la maison ABC au sein de laquelle nous essayons d’organiser cela de la manière la plus idéale possible.

ABC entend aussi partager son expertise dans ce domaine. Ces dernières années nous sont arrivées beaucoup de questions venant d’organisations qui travaillent avec des enfants/jeunes et qui sont à la recherche d’un environnement stimulant et de qualité : crèches, écoles, bibliothèques, musées, académies… Ainsi, ABC a récemment aménagé différentes classes de l’école primaire De Kriek à Schaerbeek, de l’école primaire St.Lukas à Bruxelles, d’écoles à Merksem et Herent… Nous avons aussi été partenaires du réaménagement de différentes bibliothèques (Brasschaat) et de différentes crèches et lieux d’accueil extrascolaire (entre autres Retie, Herenthout, Wechelderzande…)

En dialogue avec son partenaire, ABC étudie les besoins et les possibilités de l’infrastructure et conçoit du mobilier spécifique, complété de livres et de matériaux ludiques. L’objectif est de réaliser sur mesure un environnement d’apprentissage créatif. Au cours des différentes phases, ce processus de conception se déroule en étroite collaboration avec le partenaire impliqué.

Simultanément se déroule un processus de coaching plus « pédagogique » pour les collaborateurs du partenaire, avec l’intention de les inciter à se mettre au travail de manière créative avec les enfants/jeunes dans les nouveaux aménagements de leurs espaces.

L’architecture est toujours rêve et fonction, expression d’une utopie et instrument d’un confort”.
Roland Barthes, écrivain et philosophe

BASISBOX
Instrument de sensibilisation

affiche_basisbox

“Le troisième pédagogue, après les adultes et les autres enfants, c’est l’espace, l’environnement physique. L’environnement ne se limite pas à l’espace en soi, mais il intègre aussi les matériaux et les expériences qu’ils offrent et les activités qui y prennent place. La répartition de l’espace et l’offre des matériaux doivent être au service de la découverte et de la recherche des enfants ». Loris Malaguzzi

Avec le BASISBOX ‘Architecture’, nous voulons sensibiliser les enfants, les (futurs) enseignants, les travailleurs du secteur culturel, les éducateurs… à plus d’expérience de l’espace, et à un aménagement intérieur harmonieusement équilibré. Le changement et l’amélioration de l’environnement d’apprentissage et de travail ne sont possibles que si un processus de conscientisation précède.

Il y a dix éléments récurrents pour analyser les qualités d’un espace :

Forme/Proportions, Matériaux, Couleurs, Lumière, Son, Odeurs, Intérieur, Circulation, Ambiance, Contexte/Espace extérieur

Pour chacun de ces éléments, le BASISBOX contient toutes sortes de matériaux soigneusement choisis pour travailler et jouer : jeux (d’apprentissage), expériences, feuilles de travail, activités d’exercice, images, informations de fond, livres de référence… Tout ce matériel invite à explorer et à analyser, de manière interactive, ludique et souvent sensorielle, chaque composant comme paramètre de la qualité architecturale.

Tous les éléments ont des liens entre eux, vu qu’ils sont utilisés ensemble pour expliquer et rendre plus transparent le concept-coupole d’ « architecture ».

Le BASISBOX est un instrument de travail intéressant par exemple pour que les enfants se mettent à l’ouvrage quand leur classe est réaménagée ou lorsqu’un nouveau bâtiment est prévu. Mais aussi pour permettre aux (futurs) enseignants, bibliothécaires, travailleurs dans le secteur de la jeunesse d’être plus conscients de l’impact d’un environnement d’apprentissage créatif et des possibilités qu’ils ont eux-mêmes à leur disposition pour influencer positivement un espace.

De manière indirecte, le BASISBOX sert aussi d’outil pour l’éducation esthétique.

Catalogue Blue Print

Basisbox_Box_Rand

Dans nos collaborations avec différents partenaires, nous étudions les besoins et les possibilités de développer des environnements d’apprentissage flexibles et créatifs dans des structures existantes. Dans ces actions, le mobilier ABC est installé et complété par du matériel et des livres. En même temps se déroule un processus de coaching intensif des cadres, des enseignants, professeurs et étudiants qui y travaillent avec les enfants. Via le lien suivant, vous pouvez télécharger un aperçu complet (catalogue Blue Print) des meubles réalisés pour les construire vous-mêmes.

Blue Print

 

KAMISHIBAI

MOBIELE STUDIO’S

INTERNATIONAAL

BASISBOX